Best Practice Award

Data Governance Professionals Organization (DGPO)

Data Governance Best Practice Award 

Call for Submissions for the DGPO Best Practice Data Governance Award

The Data Governance Professionals Organization (DGPO) is accepting nominations for the Annual DGPO Best Practice Data Governance Award. The award is given to the practitioners within a customer organization, i.e. corporation, government agency or non-profit in recognition of an outstanding data governance program. Sorry, software vendors and consulting companies are not eligible.

The entries will be judged on the following criteria:
  • Business need(s) being addressed
  • Approach used to design, develop and implement the program
  • Scope and depth of the DG Program as well as program longevity
  • DG defined roles and responsibilities
  • Communication and marketing approaches
  • Policies, procedures and processes established
  • Program metrics and business value provided
Submissions must be made via a PowerPoint presentation not to exceed 10 slides.
You do not need to be a member of the DGPO to submit an entry.

Please submit your nomination to by Jan. 31, 2018

  • Submissions are due by January 31, 2018. Only one nomination per organization
  • Submissions must be made in Powerpoint, no more than 10 slides
  • All submissions become the property of the Data Governance Professionals Organization and may be used in part or full for promotional and/or educational purposes
  • We will honor specific confidentiality requests and refrain from making certain information public, however confidential information must be specifically identified and limited to no more than 20% of the overall submission
  • The winning organization agrees to deliver a webinar for the DGPO Case Studies Webinar Series 
  • A representative of the nominee organization must be available for a telephone interview with the judges, if necessary
  • Finalists will be notified by April 1, 2018. The winner will be announced in May 2018 and the award will be formally presented at the 2018 Annual Data Governance and Information Quality Conference in San Diego. The winner will be invited to present a case study of their data governance program. One person from the winner organization will receive 4-nights hotel stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and economy airfare up to $1,000 USD from their hometown to San Diego.

  • Nominee Information: Provide the full corporate name, address, telephone, email and Web address for the organization being nominated for the Best Practices Award entry. Make sure to include the Individual(s) at the nominee organization who is to be contacted regarding the nomination and/or submission (include name, title, telephone, e-mail). This should be the person who will respond to questions and be interviewed by the judges if chosen as a finalist. You may also provide an alternate contact if you wish.
  • Please provide a statement that acknowledges your acceptance of the Submission Conditions as outlined above.

Judges of the 2018 Award are:

·        Anne Buff, SAS, VP of Communications, DGPO

·        Barbara Deemer, Navient, DGPO Charter Member

·        Michele Koch, Navient, VP of Membership, DGPO

·        John Ladley, First San Francisco Partners, DGPO Advisor

·        Janet Lichtenberger, Walgreens, DG Best Practices Leader, DGPO

·        Sal Passariello, Knowledgent, Treasurer, DGPO

·        Gwen Thomas, IFC/World Bank Group, DGPO Advisor

·        Joel Lutz, The Vanguard Group, Inc., Winner of the 2017 DGPO Best Practice Award

Questions may be directed to Davida Berger, President, DGPO at 561 218-4752 or

The Annual DGPO Data Governance Best Practice Award is sponsored by The Data Governance and Information Quality Conference

Website Builder