2019 DG Best Practices Award Submissions Due by February 1st

The Data Governance Professionals Organization (DGPO) is a non-profit, vendor neutral association comprised of business, IT and data professionals dedicated to advancing the discipline of data governance. The DGPO is pleased to announce that submissions are invited for the 2019 Annual DGPO Data Governance Best Practice Award.


Submission Deadline is February 1, 2019.

The award is given to practitioners within a customer organization, corporation or government agency in recognition of an outstanding data governance program.  Sorry, software vendors and consulting companies who provide consulting services, tools, or other software products are not eligible.  For those vendors, this means the entire corporate entity, not just a division, is ineligible.


Submissions will be judged on their response to the following:

* Business need(s) being addressed
* Approach used to design, develop, and implement the program
* Scope and depth of the Data Governance Program as well as program longevity
* Data governance defined roles and responsibilities
* Communications and marketing approaches
* Policies, procedures, and processes established
* Program metrics and business value provided


Submissions must be made in the form of a single PowerPoint slide deck no more than 10 slides. Complete details and nomination requirements are available HERE.


You do not need to be a member of the DGPO to submit an entry.


Please submit your nomination to awardsubmission@dgpo.org.


Nominations will be received until February 1, 2019.  Results are expected by April 2019.


The winner will be invited to present a case study of their data governance program at The Annual Data Governance and Information Quality Conference (DGIQ) in June in San Diego, and will receive 4 nights hotel stay at the conference hotel and economy airfare up to $1,000 from their hometown to San Diego.


Judges for this year’s award are:

Anne Buff, SAS, VP of Communications, DGPO
Barbara Deemer, Navient, DGPO Charter Member
Michele Koch, Navient, VP of Membership, DGPO
John Ladley, Independent Consultant, DGPO Advisor

Janet Lichtenberger, Walgreens, DG Best Practices Leader, DGPO
Sal Passariello, Knowledgent, Treasurer, DGPO

Kevin Shannon, Global Head of Data Governance, Dun & Bradstreet and Winner of the 2018 Best Practice Award
Gwen Thomas, IFC/World Bank Group, DGPO Advisor


Questions may be directed to Davida Berger, President, DGPO at 561 910-1105 or president@dgpo.org


The DGPO Data Governance Best Practice Award is sponsored by the DGIQ Conference.